The Free Patio

27 Jun

 

Every once in a while something miraculous happens. Such is the case in respect to this patio. Let’s recap. about two weeks ago I drove over to pick up some three dollar Hostas from a lady on Craigslist. That’s when I found a giant stack of patio pavers on the curb. I drove by three times that week to see what was going on with them and attempted to connect with the owner. On the third time I was finally in luck. Not only did was he willing to let me take as many as I wanted. He was thrilled to have somebody help remove them. Hence the tedious task began. I couldn’t take all of them but I did take as many as I could over the course of six trips. I collected over one hundred pavers and stacked them up in the backyard.

This weekend I broke up the narrow sidewalk that used to go from the drive to the back door and stacked the scraps around the flower bed to match the front. Then I broke up the top soil and raked it level. Upon further research I found out that I really should lay a base of stone and then sand before dropping in the pavers. Doing a bit of scouting at Lowe’s I also found out that would make my free pavers a still very expensive patio. The soil in my neighborhood happens to be very sandy since we are so close to the lake. So I decided to go it without the recommended base. I  think it’ll be fine. Afterall it would have defeated the purpose of the patio to buy the sand and stone. Patio was just not anywhere close to in the budget, so I was really in no position to waiver.

It took about two days of on and off work to prep and lay the pavers. I’m still not really done because I do need to buy just a couple of bags of sand to sweep into the cracks. But that’s all I’m going to buy. On the side by the drive I’ll get a few plants and mulch the area. The patio set I got from a consignment store in the city and it still needs to be stripped, painted and have new pads placed in the seats. I’ve also got to figure out how to get an unbrella over it some how since there is no hole in the center (I’ve seen the offset umbrellas but they are super pricey). Any suggestions?

So here is the patio mostly finished. Still a few loose ends to wrap up but not bad for a 0.00 investment!

5 Responses to “The Free Patio”

  1. Gloria J June 27, 2011 at 5:05 PM #

    That is so awesome! I did the same with my firepit (salvaged bricks). Consider a sun shade. They’re fairly inexpensive. We bought one for our deck from Amazon (but have yet to install it.

  2. Karen Anne June 27, 2011 at 8:11 PM #

    Very nice indeed. If you had a sunshade or some other type of overhang, you’d avoid the standing in the rain, fishing out the keys scenario that I have at my house, since no one thought about an overhead shelter for the door, and there’s no room to retrofit one between the door top and the gutter.

    Or maybe you could scare up enough wood to make a pergola.

    • ittybittybungalow June 27, 2011 at 9:30 PM #

      Pergola is exactly what I want, but the window to the left of the door is problematic. It would either have to be off center or go across the window.

  3. Sally Frey July 1, 2011 at 1:04 PM #

    Your house looks great Brad!

Leave a Reply

