Porch in Progress

10 Jul

Guess what! The porch is not pink anymore! Three coats of paint later all the pink is now white to match the rest of the house. I did decide to do the trim in a contrasting color to draw some attention to the windows. It’s a Behr color called Paramount. Its pretty much charcoal grey. You can see that I did paint the trim of the attic window to match but I have not had a chance to get to the living room windows beside the porch. I’m very happy with the color choice for now. In the future I still plan on removing all the aluminum siding and painting the wooden clapboards.

Here is a before picture of the porch:

 Here is an in progress picture:

Here is another before:

…and an in progress:

Later this week I’ll have to paint the floor and ceiling, swap out the light fixture and replace the outdoor plug to a three prong outlet (something I am now an expert at), but I think that it looks great. Here is a look at the whole house:

7 Responses to “Porch in Progress”

  1. Beach Bungalow July 10, 2011 at 6:35 PM #

    Looks fantastic; good job!

    Sue
    xo

  2. Maury Postal July 10, 2011 at 7:21 PM #

    Wow! It’s coming along very nicely!

  3. Dee in BC July 11, 2011 at 11:58 AM #

    That looks sooo much better.

  4. Karen Anne July 11, 2011 at 2:14 PM #

    Looking really good!

    Boy, that was pink, wasn’t it 🙂

    I have seen people paint their porch ceilings blue, it’s some tradition some places. I’m not sure I’d pick blue, but an interesting contrasting color might be nice.

    • ittybittybungalow July 11, 2011 at 10:16 PM #

      Yeah! I was thinking of painting it that blueish color. I guess its called Haint and its supposed to help deter insects because it looks like sky and the insects feel unprotected under it and I guess it is also a color of superstition from the south to deter evil epirts and ghosts… it would be interesting to have a color with such a rich history.

  5. Gloria J July 12, 2011 at 1:20 PM #

    it looks fabulous. Our porch in Rochester used to have a blue ceiling. I didn’t know the history. Very cool.

Leave a Reply

