Itty bitty updates

28 Jul

Just in case you were wondering whats happenin’ at the bungalow here is an itty bitty update. I’m currently trying to finish up the back staircase. I don’t have a great before picture, but I can tell you that they were once all beige and the steps were covered in linoleum with an awful fake stone pattern.  I removed the linoleum and sanded off the adhesive as best as I could and painted the walls with leftover paint from the bedroom and the floor with leftover porch paint and the trim with leftover paint from the kitchen. Total investment for this project was only two new rollers!

Here is a picture from before I started painting:

 

 

This was one of those projects that seemed like it was going to be easier than it really was. There were all kinds of hard to reach spots and the beadboard had been painted so many times that it was really uneven and full of old drip marks that refused to be sanded off. I also couldn’t get all the old adhesive off the steps so  they are not exactly smooth. On top of all this they are steps, so I was, and still am constantly painting myself into awkward spots, but I’m hopeful this project will be finished by Friday night. *crosses fingers*

In other news…I’m not sure if I mentioned that I wanted a street tree for the front yard. Our street is pretty well tree-lined and IBB is a slacker in this department. So I decided to be a good street citizen and remedy the issue. After through reasearch I determined the best choice was a London Plane Tree or Bloodgood, which is a type of Sycamore. I purchased this tree and planted and watered it and then it died. Thankfully it was guaranteed and even though I lost all of my paperwork and had no proof at all that I got the tree from where I said I did the super fantastic people at the Garden Factory gave me a total refund. Thank you Garden Factory!

Ok… what else is new?

House numbers:

A new door bell:

And… I hung some dishes in the dinning room:

So there you have it. Everything new at IBB. Now I’m going out for ice cream.

8 Responses to “Itty bitty updates”

  1. glojacobs July 28, 2011 at 5:39 PM #

    Nice! I love the doorbell. Is it electric? Mechanical? Where’d you find it? I ripped out our old icky doorbell that buzzed all the time and replaced it with a real garden bell, but no one ever uses it. They just knock. So I’m thinking I need a bell people will recognize, but I’d rather one that’s mechanical than electrical.

    • ittybittybungalow July 29, 2011 at 12:56 PM #

      The doorbell is hooked up to electric but the sound is mechanical, not an recorded electronic sound. It was really cheap. I got it at Lowe’s for less than $9.00. I looked around for a long time because I couldn’t stand all the fake sounding ones and half of the boxes thought they were some kind of artwork, with stained glass or fancy dental molding not just a simple doorbell.

  2. Beach Bungalow July 28, 2011 at 6:04 PM #

    Looking really good!

    Come see my new kitchen over at Beach Bungalow.

    Sue
    xo

  3. Karen Anne July 28, 2011 at 8:13 PM #

    Ah, the energy of youth 🙂

    Love the stairs.

    • jayne July 29, 2011 at 3:05 AM #

      I was thinking that too, Karen Anne! 🙂

  4. jayne July 29, 2011 at 3:06 AM #

    I really like that doorbell and the house numbers. The back stairs look great, too. You are really movin’ on that house!

  5. Keep Smiling October 6, 2011 at 4:32 PM #

    I really, really, really like those house numbers. We have some really similar if we can ever get around to putting them up!

    • ittybittybungalow October 6, 2011 at 5:38 PM #

      I just came across your blog on Apartment Therapy and totally fell in love with your style… I seemed to be having issues commenting though… that, or you have five comments from me pending approval, sorry!

Leave a Reply

