Basement Workshop

27 Aug

As you know, I’ve been working on the basement recently. Here you can see just what exactly I have been up to. This picture shows the completed workshop. The best part is the pegboard along the back wall I’m using in order to organize the tools I have.

Check out how nasty this place was before I got to work!

In this during shot you can get a better idea of what it really looked like in the room w/o all the junk. Notice how dusty it was! In the process of removing many of the cupboards I damaged a lot of drywall and had to patch and sand all the spots – hence the dust.

I think that it is a major improvement from the way that it looked before I started working! The room started off a sunny yellow as was most of the basement at move in. I toned it down with a light gray and removed a lot of the cupboards the previous owner had installed. He worked for Kodak back in the day and used the space as a dark room which is why the sink is here which works great for the workshop.

Here is an image of the other side of the workshop.

Before:

During:

After:

Here are a couple of shots of the other side of the room:

This shelf was left in the basement by the previous owner and works great in here. Someday I’d like to get a matching one to place beside it where all of the scrap wood is now.

These cabinets used to on the wall where the workbench is now, but I wanted to extend the pegboard there and there was no other place to hang them w/o blocking an outlet so they are here now. I’ll paint them white sometime when  have time. They work well to store bits and pieces that cannot be hung like nails, sandpaper and other miscellaneous items.

 After I hung the pegboard I had a little leftover space on both sides. I’ve been collecting vintage yardsticks from estate sales because I find the colors and slogans on charming. Usually they are about 50 cents or a dollar but I never knew what to do with them until now. They worked great to fill in the gap between the wall and the pegboard and as I collect more I’m going to create a border of them around the pegboard.

Hooray for another space now clean and organized!

2 Responses to “Basement Workshop”

  1. jayne August 27, 2011 at 1:10 AM #

    Your basement looks really good! What a job that was! I collect old yardsticks, too. 🙂

  2. Karen Anne August 27, 2011 at 6:55 AM #

    That looks great! I love pegboard.

    I never thought of collecting old yardsticks, although I have old tools, which can be bought cheaply on ebay. I do have one yardstick, which I am fond of.

Leave a Reply

