Long Time No Post.

16 Jul

Its been awhile. Things have been hectic. School let out, I went to New York for a few days and I had a lot of “to dos” that needed to be accomplished when I got back. I don’t want you to think for a minute that I have been a beach bum these past few weeks so here’s the run-down if you’re not following me on Instagram (Ittybittybungalow).

 

This spring one of the first things that I did was tear up all the grass along the street and make room for some Dahlias. Since then I’ve filled the area in with Salvia, Cosmos and Purple Cone Flower. Those Dahlias have juuuust started to bloom and I can already tell that I’m going to be planting more next year. The blossoms are huge, last a quite a while and are so colorful.

DSCN0445

I also finally finished off the fence in the area behind the garage and have stained almost all of what I put up last year. Having the fence complete this year has added a lot of privacy to the backyard that was lacking when I moved in and we will be celebrating with a big BBQ in a few weeks. The pergola was also stained in the same color and I planted a non Asian variety of Wisteria to provide shade to that area in the future.

DSCN0436

DSCN0437

One of the most exciting things that has been completed since the last check in was the addition of a bathroom vanity with storage as well as two shelves over the toilet for other bathroom crap (I am still sorting out what is going to live there permanently and what will not).

DSCN0429

DSCN0431

DSCN0432

It also got REALLY hot. It took me a couple of years  to come around to the idea of ceiling fans… but I found a style that I thought was appropriate and was reasonably priced so they went into both bedrooms as well as some crown moulding.

DSCN0444

I’ve been looking (and by looking, I really mean just looking) into doing some work in the kitchen with the cupboards. I went to Lowe’s the other day and sat down with a kitchen designer to more or less duplicate my current kitchen with new white cabinets which will stay clean longer and be easier to keep that way. The quote came back quite reasonable ($1,700 – since I only needed four) for the middle of the road cabinets and a new (laminate for now) counter top. The plan would also include an 18 inch dishwasher which I am really looking forward to. I’m also going to look into re-facing them before I go any further though.

If I do anything more soon, it’ll be refinishing my floors. 

 

….And that’s what’s been happening around here.

5 Responses to “Long Time No Post.”

  1. D. Edwards July 16, 2013 at 7:42 PM #

    Looks great! Nice job!

  2. Jayne July 20, 2013 at 7:08 AM #

    Wow! You’ve been busy! Aren’t dahlias wonderful? One of my favorite flowers too. You have such great style–I love the color in the bathroom and the way you did the shelves.

  3. Julia August 1, 2013 at 11:19 PM #

    hi Brad. i was wondering if you could share where you purchased your living room fan and bathroom shelves? thanks.

    • ittybittybungalow August 2, 2013 at 12:30 AM #

      Hi Julia, The fans for the bedrooms were Hampton Bay at Home Depot and the shelf brackets were from Lowe’s in the lumber area, the actual shelves were stair risers. I had to sand and paint both. If you’re not into that… Home Depot caries a close lookalike already painted white in the storage area, but the brackets are more simple.

      • Julia August 3, 2013 at 12:13 AM #

        thanks Brad. great blog!

Leave a comment